Christopher D. Cunningham

      Director of Guitar Studies
Herndon Guitar Boosters

HHS recipients of the Glen McCarthy Guitar Award

2013 - Seth Itkin

2012 - Omar Zaki

2011 - Patrick Tugwell

2010 - Jack Radcliffe

2009 - Keith Butler

2008 - Chris Harold

Images courtesy Roger Tomhave, Fine Arts Coordinator, Fairfax County Public Schools, Leis Instructional Center

The Glen McCarthy Guitar Award is given annually to the student in each Fairfax County Public School (FCPS) high school guitar program who exhibits those traits that Glen McCarthy has inspired in his students during 30 years of teaching: superior overall musicianship and leadership within the guitar program. Winners are selected by the director of each individual school’s guitar program.

Glen McCarthy began teaching at Robinson Secondary School in 1976, where he developed the first full-year guitar program for FCPS. Student interest in the guitar program was strong and the program thrived and spread to nine other county high schools.

McCarthy retired from FCPS in 2007. He now teaches at George Mason University and at the Wolf Trap National Park for the Performing Arts educational center.

Glen McCarthy Guitar Award